New Jersey Electronic Security Association
In the State of New Jersey, contractor licensing for fire alarm systems started in June of 2003 through the Department of Community Affairs in Trenton. In March of 2004, contractor licensing for burglar alarms and all other security systems, including fire alarms, became mandatory through the Department of Consumer Affairs in Newark. NJESA has been a driving force in providing information and training to our members to ultimately protect the consumer. NJESA always promotes hiring a licensed contractor.
Our members must adhere to a strong Code of Ethics, which underscores the importance of our high standards.
Licensed members of NJESA are listed on the DCA website. They are your best choice for quality, reliable security services. You can also obtain important information to help make the right decision in the purchasing of a new security or fire alarm system.
NJ alarm dealers and installers are required to be licensed. Existing individual licensees MUST RENEW by AUGUST 31, 2016.
For more information, click HERE for the DCA website.
Upcoming Training Classes
8 Hour Required Class
(required for licensing and renewal)
July 21, 2016
ADI – South Plainfield
Industrial and Construction Site Safety – 2 hours
The NJ Uniform Construction Code – 2 hours
Understanding the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) – 2 hours
Understanding the Barrier Free Subcode – 2 hours
Click HERE for full brochure.
Click HERE to register online.
New Code Requirements in New Jersey
New Jersey has recently adopted new code requirements that will go into effect on September 21, 2015: the 2015 International Building Code (IBC) and the International Residential Code (IRC), as amended. The “New Jersey Editions” of the new codes will also add the 2014 Edition of the National Electrical Code (NEC) to the Electrical Subcode. In addition, the 2015 IBC/IFC codes that were adopted reference the 2013 edition of NFPA 72.
A six month grace period, as provided for in NJAC 5:23-1.6, will extend until March 8, 2016. For a period of six months following the operative date of a subcode revision, applicants may submit a complete permit application, including all prior approvals, to be reviewed under the code in force immediately preceding the subcode revision. Provided that the application is complete, the construction official and applicable subcode officials shall perform the plan review and issue construction permit(s) based on the code in force immediately prior to the operative date of the subcode revision. This grace period shall apply only to revisions of subcodes.
New Jersey requires all work to have approved permit(s) issued before any work is started. New Jersey licenses or registers all trades and requires a business license or business registration on all permits issued, except for a single family owner-occupied residence, whereby the homeowner is performing their own work.
NJ-ESA will be offering code update classes on these new requirements. We also offer many other training classes to meet CEU licensing requirements. Visit www.nj-esa.org for more information.