Scholarship Program
Win The Scholarship Award

The New Jersey Electronic Security Association (NJESA), an official chartered chapter of the Electronic Security Association (ESA), is pleased to announce the availability of college scholarship awards to sons and daughters of active-duty police and fire personnel.

The ESA has more than 2,500 members and the NJESA has over 300 members.  Our members are companies that sell, design, install, maintain, and monitor electronic burglar and fire alarm systems.  This scholarship award is a small way for our industry to say thanks to our very dedicated public safety community and to help pay for an advanced education for deserving students.

The scholarship awards, in the amounts of $1,500 for first prize and $1,000 for second prize, are available to qualified high school seniors.

Through the Youth Scholarship Program, thousands of dollars have been given to students attending higher education institutions across our country. In fact, more than $300,000 has been given out by the participating states and ESA.

An exciting aspect of this scholarship is that the first place winner from our state is eligible for the national scholarship awards.  The ESA Youth Scholarship Program awards two scholarships.  The first place national winner will receive $7,500 and the second place national winner will receive $2,500.

Please publicize this scholarship opportunity.  A copy of the requirements and application can be found at  All applications must be submitted online.

Awards are based on a combination of academic achievement, national test scores, extracurricular participation and the essay. In addition to completing the application and submitting the appropriate documentation, each student must write an essay explaining “What it means to me to have my parent or guardian involved in securing our community.

Deadline to submit an online application is March 1, 2019

Click the button for more information and to apply. For more information contact Sunitha at or 732-252-8672.

2018 Scholarship Winners
Scholarship recipients and their fathers were in attendance at our Annual Golf Outing to read their winning essays and accept their award at the dinner reception.

First Place ($1,500) went to Ryan Palmer of Arthur L. Johnson High School in Clark, NJ. His father is Allan Palmer of the Rahway Fire Department. Ryan plans to attend Virginia Tech.

Second Place ($1,000) went to Liam Kerrick of Newton High School in Newton, NJ. His father is Paul Kerrick of the NJ State Police. Liam plans to attend IAIB-INU Northeastern University.

Ryan Palmer 1st Place Scholarship Award Winner accepts a check from NJESA Treasurer Casey Guagenti.
Liam Kerrick 2nd Place Scholarship Award Winner accepts a check from NJESA Treasurer Casey Guagenti.

NJESA Youth Scholarship Program winner wins the ESA Youth Scholarship Program at the National Level

Michelle Bello, 1st prize winner, with her family receiving award from Gerard Duffy, President, NJESA

After careful consideration, Michelle Bello from Pennsauken High School, NJ won the first prize and Cary Robinson Jr. from Overbrook Regional High School, NJ won the second prize.

We invited the winners and their families to dinner at our Annual Golf Outing Event and presented them with checks for $1,500 and $1,000 respectively.

Past Scholarship Winners
1st Place: Caitlin Murphy, Villa Walsh Accademy, Morristown
2nd Place: Christina Healey, Fairlawn HS, Fairlawn

1st Place: Shannon Tymes, North Hunterdon HS, Annadale
2nd Place: Courtney Brunet, North Valley Regional HS, Demarest

1st Place: Michelle Bello, Pennsauken HS, Pennsauken
2nd Place: Cary Glen Robinson, Overbrook Senior HS, Pine Hill

1st Place: Ryan Palmer, Arthur L Johnson HS, Clark
2nd Place: Liam Kerrick, Newton HS, Newton